Experience the SO((U))L HQ

Sometimes you just need a break. In a beauti-filled place. With people who understand. With time to be alone. To figure things out.

The SO((U))L HQ in Stony Hill, St. Andrew, Jamaica can be that space.

I came to the HQ in August 2016 as part of an impromptu exchange that happened between myself and Afifa (co-founder of the HQ); Afifa came to Trinidad and explored Trinidad and herself and I have now come to Jamaica to do the same. Because we both benefited greatly from this exchange we felt others might as well and invite you to find out more. Just email us at thesoulhqja@gmail.com  or check out our  blog and instagram feed.

 

What exactly happens at the HQ?

Magic. Basically.

When I first came to the HQ I slept for about two weeks straight. I woke up late. Ate. Took a nap. Woke up and Ate. Took another nap. Woke up and Ate. Then went to sleep for the night. While I was awake I had a number of auhmazing conversations about endless possibilities and alternatives to everything you could possibly imagine with Afifa, Zanj and Roho (the core of the HQ community). No one pressured me to cook, clean, or do anything (except to eat…that was a non-negotiable). They only wanted to make sure I was alright. Once I was ok they left me to either sleep or do whatever it was I wanted to do. Later I began exploring, creating, helping more and sleeping less but it would not have been done with the same energy if I didn’t get the space to re-calibrate and flow into my own riddim.

The HQ has provided the right amount of support and resource for me to free and untangle myself which has been one of the scariest but most fulfilling decision I have made in my life. I have been able to process and unpack some of my baggage, start my own radio program, start my own blog, and actively work on designing the life I want to live.It has definitely marked a turning point and I am forever great-filled for the experience. So much so, I have become a permanent part of the community 🙂 !!!!

There are a gazillion more things I can share about my experience – I’ll make a few more posts and add some pictures – but for you to really understand you just need to come. Fur real fur real.

What did you think?

